Intergovernmental Organizations (including the United Nations)

Asian Development Bank (ADB)
ADB is a multilateral institution dedicated to the planning and financing of development-related projects throughout Asia and the Pacific. ADB consists of 67 members, mostly in the Asian and Pacific region, but also including many European countries, Canada, and the United States. It extends loans and equity investments to member countries, provides technical assistance for development projects and advisory services, promotes and facilitates investment for development, and helps coordinate development policies and plans.

European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
The EBRD is devoted to facilitating the transition to capitalist, market-based economies in Central and Eastern Europe. It seeks to help these countries implement economic reform, including de-monopolization, decentralization, and privatization. The Bank also works with co-financing and foreign direct investment from the private and public sectors, the mobilization of domestic capital, and technical cooperation.

European Commission
The Commission serves as the de facto executive organ of the European Union (EU). Its three main functions are making proposals for new legislation, enforcing EU legislation and treaties, and implementing policy.

European Union
The EU represents approximately 400 million people in 27 member countries across Europe. It is a supra-national institution that serves as the driving force behind European integration. As part of its mission, the EU deals with a vast array of economic, political, military, social and environmental issues with legal implications.

Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)
The mission of the Inter-American Development Bank is to promote economic and social development in Latin America and the Caribbean. The IDB today is the main source of multilateral financing for economic, social and institutional development in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as for regional integration. It provides loans, grants, guarantees, policy advice and technical assistance to the public and private sectors throughout the region.

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
The IAEA is an independent intergovernmental organization that is part of the UN organization. The IAEA is the world's center of cooperation in the nuclear field and works with its Member States and multiple partners worldwide to promote safe, secure and peaceful nuclear technologies. The Office of Legal Affairs provides advice internally and to the various policy-making organs of the IAEA.

International Fund for Agricultural Development
The mission of IFAS's 164 member states is to help improve the food production, nutrition, and income of the rural poor in developing countries. IFAD seeks to raise productivity and improve access to resources for agricultural development projects and programs.

International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The IMF seeks to promote international monetary cooperation and stability, especially in developing countries undergoing balance of payments difficulties. It appraises exchange rate policies in light of each country's general economic situation, provides technical expertise and aid, and extends credits and loans to support economic adjustment and reform.

International Organization for Migration (IOM)
IOM is committed to the principle that "humane and orderly migration benefits both migrants and society". IOM operates resettlement and refugee relief programs around the world and provides technical assistance, professional training, medical services, and language/cultural orientation.

International Telecommunications Union (ITU)
The ITU is an agency created to encourage and coordinate global telecommunications development, cooperation and standardization. Headquartered in Geneva, the ITU is made up of three main sectors, including the Radiocommunication Bureau, the Telecommunication Standardization Bureau, and the Telecommunication Development Bureau.

Office of the United High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
Headquartered in Washington, DC, the World Bank Group has offices in over 100 countries. Financially independent of the UN, the World Bank Group's core business is to lend money to developing countries and offers a wide variety of financial, legal, and technical services. It is devoted to three overarching goals: human development, environmentally sustainable development, and private sector development.

World Health Organization (WHO)
The WHO is a UN agency with 193 member states, created to improve health conditions for people around the globe. The organization's goals include promoting global health standards, eradicating disease, and equipping nations with the technology to battle diseases. The WHO collaborates with other UN agencies where necessary to accomplish its mission.

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
WIPO is a specialized agency of the United Nations dedicated to developing a balanced and accessible international intellectual property system which rewards creativity, stimulates innovation, and contributes to economic development while safeguarding the public interest.

World Trade Organization
The functions of the World Trade Organization include: administering WTO trade agreements; providing a forum for trade negotiations; handling trade disputes; monitoring national trade policies; providing technical assistance and training for developing countries; and cooperating with other international organizations.

  • Loyola University
  • Northeastern
  • Ohio State University
  • California Western
  • New England Law Boston
  • Tulane University Law School
White & CaseInternational Bar AssociationDepaul UniversityThe National JuristAmerican Society of International LawABA Section of International LawAmerican BranchInternational Law Institute