• JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 6469

2010 Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition

Compromis: Case Concerning the Windscale Islands (Aspatria v. Rydal)

Topics: Self Determination, Sovereignty over Territory, Bilateral Investment Treaties, Seizure of Assets

Location: Capitol Hilton, Washington, D.C.

Dates: March 21-27, 2010

Jessup World Cup Champion: Australian National University (Australia)
Team Members - Ellen Chapple, Rohan Kapur, Sarah Lynch, Sneha Rangnath, Samuel Thorpe
Coach - Wayne Morgan, Jon Lovell

Runner Up:  Columbia University (United States)

Team Members - Erik Lindeman, Kevin Lin, Jacob Johnston, Akshaya Kumar, Elisabeth Page
Coach - Suyash Paliwal, Lori Damrosch, Matthew Waxman, Erin Thompson

Final Round Judges
H.E. Stephen M. Schwebel  - Former Judge & President, International Court of Justice 
Dame Rosalyn Higgins  - Former Judge & President, International Court of Justice 
Harold Koh - Legal Adviser to the United States State Department; Dean, Yale Law School

Problem Author

Lead Author - Andrew C. Holmes & Luciana Ricart
Authorial Committe Members: Amity Boye, Dagmar Butte, Michael Peil, Antonio Riva Palacio Lavin, Steven Schneebaum, Quang Trinh, Alejandro Turyn, Michael Waibel, Ashley Walker, Rumiana Yotova

Executive Director: Amity R. Boye

Best Oralist (Championship Round): Kevin Lin, Columbia University (United States)

Oralist (Preliminary Rounds): Joe Russo, New York University (United States)

Best Applicant Memorial (Richard R. Baxter Award): National University of Singapore (Singapore)- click here to view a copy

Best Respondent Memorial (Richard R. Baxter Award): Australian National University (Australia)- click here to view a copy

Best Memorial  - Int'l. Rounds (Alona E. Evans Award): Columbia University (United States)

Best Memorial - World Regional Rounds (Hardy C. Dillard Award)Chinese University of Hong Kong (Hong Kong, China)

International Law Institute Award: Felipe Echandi, Universidad de Costa Rica (Costa Rica)

Spirit of the Jessup Award: Albiruni University & Kabul University (Afghanistan)

Steven M. Schneebaum Award: Jamie Dee Larkam (Canada)

Pamela Young Award: Bonnie Bird, Michael Collins Q.C., Jason Johns, Gerald Schatz

2010 Results: 

2010 Competition Materials

List of Participating Teams Worldwide
List of Participating Teams - International Rounds

Featured Partners :White Case logo RGB International Bar Association

  • Boston College
  • Drexel
  • The Hague Academy of International Law
  • Cornell
  • Tel Aviv University Faculty of Law
  • Bucerius
  • Chapman LLM
  • University of San Diego
  • American University Washington College of Law- Human Rights and Humanitarian Law
  • Widener Law
  • IBA Ad
  • Pepperdine Law