• JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 6469

2013 Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition

Compromis: Case Concerning the Alfurnan Migrants (Alfurna v. Rutasia)

Topics: International Environmental Law, Statehood and the Succession of State Obligations, Definition of Refugees v. Migrants, Treatment of Migrants/Refugees

Location: Capitol Hilton, Washington, D.C.

Dates: March 25-31, 2012

Jessup World Cup Champion: National Law School of India University (India)
Team Members - Raag Yadava, Geetha Hariharan, Shreya Jain, Akshaya Ramdurai
Coaches - Krishnaprasad K.V., Shashank Kumar, Sharad Bansal

Runner Up:  Singapore Management University (Singapore)

Team Members - Hui Ying Chong, Kenneth Tan, Shaun Pereira, Aleksandar Georgiev, Zhao Xiang
Coach - Siuyan Chen

Final Round Judges
H.E. Ronny Abraham  - Judge, International Court of Justice 
H.E. Xue Hanquin  - Judge, International Court of Justice
H.E. Julia Sebutinde - Judge, International Court of Justice

Problem Author

Lead Authors - Quang Trinh, Derek Wong

Executive Director: Lesley Benn

Best Oralist (Championship Round): Raag Yadava, National Law School of India University (India)

Oralist (Preliminary Rounds): Emily Burke, University of New South Wales (Australia)

Best Applicant Memorial (Richard R. Baxter Award): Universite de Luxembourg (Luxembourg) - click here to view a copy

Best Respondent Memorial (Richard R. Baxter Award): National Law University - Delhi (India) - click here to view a copy

Best Memorial  - Int'l. Rounds (Alona E. Evans Award): University of Bucharest (Romania)

Best Memorial - World Regional Rounds (Hardy C. Dillard Award): (tie) Humbold Universitat zu Berlin (Germany), Universite de Luxembourg (Luxembourg)

International Law Institute Award: Viorel Chiricioiu, University of Bucharest (Romania) 

Best New Team: University of Macau (Macau)

Best Overall Applicant: University of New South Wales (Australia)

Best Overall Respondent: Columbia University (United States)

Best Applicant Memorial1. University of Bucharest (Romania); 2. New York University (United States); 3. Friedrich Schiller Universitat - Jena (Germany)

Best Respondent Memorial1. Russian Academy of Justice (Russia); 2. City University of Hong Kong - (Hong Kong); 3. Columbia University (United States)

Best Exhibition Team: Universidad del Rosario (Colombia)

Best Exhibition Oralist (tie): Michelle Lang, University of Saskatchewan (Canada); Bohdan Tokarski, Kyiv National Taras Shevchenko University - Institute of International Relations (Ukraine)

Best Exhibition Memorial: Kyiv National Taras Shevchenko University - Institute of International Relations (Ukraine)

Spirit of the Jessup Award: Birzeit University (Occupied Palestinian Territory)

Pamela Young Award: Roxanna Nazari, Maria Issaeva

2013 Results: 

2013 Competition Materials

Featured Partners :White Case logo RGB International Bar Association

  • Chapman LLM
  • American University
  • Tel Aviv University Faculty of Law
  • Advertise with ILSA
  • IBA Ad
  • Pepperdine Law
  • Widener Law
  • The Hague Academy of International Law
  • CWSL
  • Bucerius