Compromis: Case Concerning the Seabed Mining Facility (Erebus v. Merapi)


Location: The Washington Monarch Hotel, Washington, D.C.

Date: April 7, 2001

Jessup World Cup Champion: National University of Singapore (Singapore)
Team Members – Davinia Filza Abdul Aziz, Ho Ming Chan, Jason Tai-Hui Chan, Kabir Singh, Sangeeta Subrahmanyam
Coach – Prof. Robert Beckman

Runner Up:  Universidad Catolica Andres Bello (Venezuela)
Team Members – Ana Camano, Courtney E. Dao, Alejandro Franco, Luisa T. Lepervanche, David Marquez
Coach – Ana C. Nunez

Final Round Judges
Roy S. Lee – Former Secretary International Law Commission & Sixth (Legal) Committee of the United Nations
Ruth Wedgwood – Professor of Law, Yale Law School
Jordan Paust – Professor of Law, University of Houston School of Law 

Problem Author: Not Recorded

Executive Director: M. Elizabeth Atkins

Administrative DirectorLaura M. Title

Best Oralist (Championship Round): Jason Tai-Hui Chan, National University of Singapore (Singapore)

Runner Up Best Oralist (Championship Round): Luisa T. Lepervanche, Universidad Catolica Andres Bello (Venezuela) 

Oralist (Preliminary Rounds): James McNiff, University of Georgia (USA)

Best Applicant Memorial (Richard R. Baxter Award): New England School of Law (USA)

Best Respondent Memorial (Richard R. Baxter Award): University of Vienna (Austria)

Best Memorial  – Int’l. Rounds (Alona E. Evans Award): Columbia University (USA)

Best Memorial – World Regional Rounds (Hardy C. Dillard Award): Emory University (USA)

Spirit of the Jessup Award: University of Iceland (Iceland)

Pamela Young Award: Dagmar Butte, Sandra Liebel

2001 Records: 

Number of Teams Worldwide: 309

Number of Teams at the International Rounds: 68

Number of Countries54

Number of Countries at the International Rounds53