Jessup Judges

The Jessup Competition is judged by an elite corps of volunteer attorneys. Judges are needed at all levels of the Competition (National, Friendly, and International) to evaluate and score the written and oral pleadings of the competitors. In most jurisdictions, study or practice in the field of international law, or prior experience in the Jessup Competition, is preferred, but not required.

Jessup Judge registration is closed for system maintenance at the moment. Please check back for updates. Feel free to email [email protected] with any questions.

Judge Registration

Competition Format

ILSA is excited to announce that the 2023 White & Case Jessup International Rounds will be held, in person, on 9-15 April 2023 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Washington, DC.

This will be the first International Rounds held in person in four years. We look forward to gathering with the next generation of Jessupers as well as our incredible FOJ community to celebrate international law and education.

Information about National Rounds will be announced in the coming months, as details are finalized. Please click to read our complete statement. Please feel free to email [email protected] if you have additional questions.

We encourage judges to begin registering for the Jessup Competition in October of every year. If you register your interest in judging National and Friendly Rounds, we will share your contact information with the National Administrators in the locations in which you indicated your interest in judging. The National Administrators will be communicating with and scheduling judges for National Rounds. The most up-to-date information about National Rounds including dates, locations, and National Administrator email addresses can be found on our National and Friendly Rounds page. If you have questions about a specific National Round, we encourage you to contact the National Administrator in the first instance. However, you can also email [email protected] with questions or concerns.

If you register your interest in judging the Jessup 2022 International Rounds we expect to confirm judges on a rolling basis from February through March 2022. We have limited judging slots available at the Jessup International Rounds, and may not be able to confirm all applicants to judge. Additional information will be sent to International Rounds judges as they are confirmed. We appreciate in advance your patience with this process. Please contact us at [email protected] with any questions.

Competition Materials

The Jessup 2023 Problem is expected to be released on 15 September 2022.

Resources and Guides for Judges

Below are helpful resources and guides for both returning and new judges. The materials are divided based on resources for oral rounds scoring and grading of the written memorial submissions.

National and Qualifying Rounds Schedule

Promotional Materials

Promotional materials for Jessup 2023 have not yet been released.