Announcing the 2024 Dalferes Laureates

ILSA is proud to announce this year’s Dalferes Laureates. These five incredible lawyers have been selected to receive an award from the Rusty Dalferes Memorial Fund to help defray their travel costs to attend and judge at the White & Case International Rounds. The 2024 class represents the second group of outstanding legal professionals selected to receive an award from the Rusty Dalferes Memorial Fund. Continue reading “Announcing the 2024 Dalferes Laureates”

Correction to the Corrections & Clarifications

ILSA regrets to announce that there was a typographical error in the Corrections & Clarifications. In Correction #11, “1948” should have been “1958”. We have corrected the text in the versions available on ILSA’s website. Thank you to the Teams who caught the error. Fortunately, the error is without consequence for Teams’ arguments. You can find the corrected version of the Corrections & Clarifications here.

ILSA mourns the passing of Prof. Ved Nanda

The International Law Students Association joins the international law world in mourning the passing of Prof. Ved Nanda. In addition to his countless contributions to international law and organizations, Prof. Nanda was a longtime member of our Board of Directors, a coach and mentor to Jessup teams around the globe, the author of the 1986 Jessup Compromis, and a judge in the 1994 World Championship Round. He will be deeply missed by his colleagues, his many friends, and the countless students for whom he was teacher, role model, and inspiration.

Jessup 2024 Rules Update

Jessup 2024 saw the introduction of Rule 5.17 concerning Acronyms and Abbreviations in Memorials. We have received a lot of feedback on the rule and have decided, pursuant to Rule 1.8(a), to update the list of permitted acronyms to include:

ACHPR African Commission on Human and People’s Rights
ACtHPR African Court on Human and People’s Rights
CJEU Court of Justice of the European Union
ECOSOC United Nations Economic and Social Council
HRC UN Human Rights Council
HRComm UN Human Rights Committee
IACHR Inter-American Commission of Human Rights
IACtHR Inter-American Court of Human Rights
PCIJ Permanent Court of International Justice

You can download an updated version of the Jessup 2024 Official Rules which contains the additional permitted acronyms in the Annex.