Compromis: Case Concerning the Zetian Provinces (Ardenia v. Rigalia)

Topics: Drone Strikes, Use of Force, Bilateral Investment Treaties, Freedom of Religious Expressio

Location: Capitol Hilton, Washington, D.C.

Dates: March 20-26, 2011

Jessup World Cup Champion: University of Sydney (Australia)
Team Members - Patrick Bateman, Christopher Beshara, Glenn Kembrey, Chelsea Tabart, Patrick Wall
Coach - Natalie Zerial, Tim Stephens

Runner Up:  Columbia University (United States)

Team Members - Jacob Johnston, Akshaya Kumar, James Wigginton, Jennifer Lim, Benjamin Schrier
Coach - Elisabeth Page, Ricardo Chirinos, Viren Mascarenhas, Lori Damrosch, Kevin Lin

Final Round Judges
H.E. Thomas Buergenthal  - Former Judge, International Court of Justice
Claudio Grossman  - Former President, Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
Mark Peith - Chairman, OECD Working Group on Bribery in International Transactions

Problem Author

Lead Author - Leila Sadat, Larry Johnson, Nicola Bonucci

Executive Director: Will Patterson

Best Oralist (Championship Round): Jennifer Lim, Columbia University (United States)

Oralist (Preliminary Rounds): Jacob Johnston, New York University (United States)

Best Applicant Memorial (Richard R. Baxter Award): Case Western Reserve University (United States)- click here to view a copy

Best Respondent Memorial (Richard R. Baxter Award): University of Sydney (Australia)- click here to view a copy

Best Memorial  - Int'l. Rounds (Alona E. Evans Award): Ateneo de Manila University (Philippines)

Best Memorial - World Regional Rounds (Hardy C. Dillard Award)Tblisi State University (Georgia)

International Law Institute Award: Philip Gerard Dabao, Ateneo de Manila University (Philippines)

Best New Team: Norman Manley Law School (Jamaica)

Best Overall Applicant: National Law University (India)

Best Overall Respondent: Columbia Univeristy (USA)

Best Applicant Memorial: 1. Universidad de los Andes (Colombia); 2. NALSAR (India); 3. National & Kapodistrian University of Athens (Greece)

Best Respondent Memorial1. Xiamen University (China); 2. University of California - Hastings (United States); 3. Ateneo de Manila University (Philippines)

Spirit of the Jessup Award: Kyoto University & Sophia University (Japan)

Steven M. Schneebaum Award: Ghulam Reza Mohamaddy (Afghanistan); Alejandro Turin (Argentina); Kari Kammel, Rokosh Abdullah, Bakhcha Omar (Iraq)

Pamela Young Award: Anne Holliday, Anthony Nuval, Steven Schneebaum

2011 Results: 

2011 Competition Materials